Confessions of a Closet Poet

It’s been a few months since I stopped dithering and owned up to being a writer.

Since then I’ve published a pile of blog posts, had two guest posts featured on two of my favourite blogs, and submitted work to three short story contests. Phew, what a year!

The truth is, despite all this sharing, I’m still hiding. I’ve been holding back my favourite work.

You see, I am a poet.

Prose, articles and short stories are great fun and all, but mine begin as poems whose wings I clip to make them stay put on the page.

I write poetry meant for the stage and then hide it. It’s spoken word poetry that hasn’t even been spoken aloud. Yet.

Here’s what I’m going to do. I am throwing myself off a cliff and pledging here for all to see that I will prepare five of my darlings to be laid bare on the stage at Capslam beginning with the new season on September 1, 2012.

You won’t be fully alive as long as you keep the soul of your work hidden from the light of day.

What is your hidden passion? What gift are you afraid to share it with the world?

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Closet Poet

Feel a spark? Spread the fire!

