Live in the Now to Slay the Giant

Fear about the future and anxiety about the past are two of the biggest culprits when it comes to stress.

I often worry about what will happen tomorrow and where my choices will lead and I lament all the actions I should have taken or the stupid things I shouldn’t have said.

This focus on the future and on the past takes up a large amount of mental energy and can ruin the little moments of life. How much did I really enjoy that mocha I drank while rehashing the week’s events in my mind?

There is a flurry of anxiety and stress in the world around me. So many people that I know and respect are going through tough times and are facing uncertainty about their future and there isn’t anything I can do to fix it.

All I can offer is a philosophy: if we can learn to live in the moment and just focus on putting one foot in front of the other we can go from being defeated by the gigantic problems of life to becoming conquerors of the minutiae that threaten to overwhelm us.

All we can do to keep our balance in life is to hold tight to our courage and take action, succeeding in one challenge at a time.

Feel a spark? Spread the fire!

